Picture
Infinitives. Well, what are infinitives? They are verbs joined with the word 'to'. Funny thing about the infinitives though. They can also act as a noun, adjective, or adverb in the sentence. Let us look at some examples of sentences that have infinitives.

  • I wish to go home. (verb)
  • "To boldly go where no man has gone before." (adverb)
  • That sound was deafening to my ears. (adjective)
Generally, the infinitive is used with the word 'to' as well. 
  • It is common to use action verbs when writing fight scenes.
  • It is appropriate to use your best etiquette when visiting someone's home.
  • It was great to ride in your luxury car past the beach.
Infinitives were a little tricky to work with, but I enjoyed the challenge. It made me more aware of how important the word 'to' is. From now on when I use the word 'to', I will make sure that I take a look at the type of words I am surrounding it with. Maybe we should all take the time to (verb) look at words we are nestling around this word.

"Writing Styles - Be the Bright!"






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    Angela P. is a published poet and freelance writer. She created this blog to sharpen and fine tune her skills as a writer. She desires to share all that she learns and all that she knows. Even though she has been writing for pay since 2009, she realizes there is still a huge sum of writing knowledge out there to attain.

    Archives

    September 2013
    August 2013

    http://www.blogicas.com
    Listed in LS Blogs the Blog Directory and Blog Search Engine
    Aviva Blogs Directory

    Enter your email address:

    Delivered by FeedBurner

    DoFollow Sites
    Visit my store on Storenvy